Patients, Visitors & The Public

Research & Innovation

Since the introduction of the NHS Operating Framework in 2008/09 the Countess of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust has greatly increased recruitment to trials. Considerable improvement and progress has been achieved in integrating research into clinical service in the Trust and we continually endeavour to drive this forward through the highly motivated research team, both keen research active clinicians and hardworking research nurses and midwife.

Year Number of recruits at COCH 

2008 - 2009 

23
2009 - 2010  133
2010 - 2011 236
2011 - 2012 382
2012 - 2013  718
2013 - 2014  967
2014 - 2015  751
2015 - 2016  694
2016 - 2017  971
2017 - 2018  1017

 

Our Clinical Lead for Research & Innovation is Consultant Dr Theresa Barnes Theresa.barnes@nhs.net assisted by research facilitator Jude Prince coch.rd-facilitator@nhs.net 01244 365 243 and Lead Nurse for Research Helen Jeffrey helen.jeffrey1@nhs.net 01244 365 243 twitter: @CochResearchTeam

We aim to make research and innovation easily accessible to all stakeholders. We have research studies taking place in the following specialities. Please contact the appropriate member of staff or ask your caregiver about research projects that may be available to you. 

  • Colorectal

Paul Evans - Research Nurse - 01244 362 205 - paul.evans21@nhs.net

  • Rheumatology

Helen Jeffrey - Research Nurse - 01244 363 337 - helen.jeffrey1@nhs.net

  • Respiratory

Lynda Sackett - Research Nurse - 01244 363 421 - lynda.sackett@nhs.net

  • ITU

Maria Faulkner - Research Nurse - 01244 362 260 - maria.faulkner1@nhs.net

  • Diabetes

Susan Seal - Research Nurse - 01244 363 619 - susan.edwards11@nhs.net

  • Paediatrics

Caroline Lonsdale - 01244 366 855 - caroline.lonsdale@nhs.net

  • Haematology

Jan Spriggs - Research Nurse - 01244 362 203 - j.spriggs@nhs.net 

  • Gynaecoclogy

Nichola Kearsley - Research Nurse - 01244 363 379 - nichola.kearsley@nhs.net

  • Obstetrics and Midwifery

Kerry Barker-Williams - Research Midwife - 01244 363 422 - kerry.barker-williams@nhs.net

  • Stroke

Sandra Leason - Research Nurse - 01244 365 894 - sandra.leason@nhs.net